The Vice Chancellor has constituted a University Curriculum Committee, upon approval by the Senate, as an Ad-hoc committee of the Deans Committee. The committee is mandated to carry out duties that include; receiving newly developed and reviewed curricula from schools through the Deans, edit and harmonize the presented curricula with the University Statutes, policies and the set standards in conformity with Commission for University Education (CUE) guidelines. The committee will also advice the Deans Committee on curricula that needs to be reviewed or changed either in full or in part, make recommendations on students’ registration and completion in the various programs.

Working closely with the Deputy Vice- Chancellor Academic Affairs, the committee will ensure that the Senate approved curricula is presented to the Commission for University Education for purposes of recognition and accreditation. Curriculum Committee will also develop policies and procedures for consideration by the deans’ committee for managing university curricula, as well as producing university prospectuses and any other relevant information on university academic programs.

The Committee members include;

Maurice O. Nyadawa - an Associate Professor of Civil Engineering at Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology, Kenya. He is the founder Dean of School of Engineering and Technology of JOOUST. He has mentored many Postgraduate students both at Masters and Doctoral levels. He has also participated in a number of national assignments in his area of specialization including community service. He is also a fellow of a number of professional bodies in his area of specialization. Nyadawa has many years of experience in Civil Engineering Curriculum development in a number of universities in Kenya. He has benefitted from two trainings related to quality management of university academic programmes by Commission of University Education:  Peer Reviewer of university academic programmes and University curriculum co-ordination. Prof. Nyadawa has been appointed to Chair the Ad hoc Committee of the Deans’ committee on Curriculum Development Coordination.

Dr. George Raburu -a Senior Lecturer in Computer Forensics with wide experience in Curriculum Development at Tertiary and University level. Raburu has been a reviewer and curriculum developer for; Bachelor of Science in Computer Science and Information Technology with CUE, Diploma in Computer Forensics with TVET and Secondary Mathematics with KICD formerly KIE. Currently he has been nominated as a member of JOOUST Curriculum Committee. Dr. Raburu is also involved in development of research proposals on digital Technology and Virtual Platforms for Sharing Research and Educational Resources within East African Universities.

Dr. Ruth Otieno –a Lecturer of curriculum development and pedagogy in the school of Education of Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology. Dr. Ruth has a wealth of experience in reviewing curriculum. Ruth Studied at the University of London, Institute of Education.

Dr. Peter Otieno – a holder of Doctor of Philosophy in Library Information Science. Dr. Otieno is a Senior University Librarian with a wealth of knowledge in Information Science.

The committee will work under the supervision of the Deputy Vice - Chancellor Academic Affairs Prof. Joseph Bosire.

Screen Reader