New Student Governing Council assume office

The University held its’ Student Association of Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology (SAJOOUST) Elections on Friday at the Assembly Hall in its’ Main Campus in Bondo.  The two-day electoral process began with elections of the Electoral College Representatives (ECRs), which attracted a high participation of students from all the schools. 

While officially opening the Student Governing Council (SGC) elections, the Deputy Vice Chancellor Academic Affairs Prof. Joseph Bosire lauded the students for their participation, urging the students to remain focused on the role that they had been given. He further added that it is in the interest of the University Management and Council that the process remains successful and peaceful.

The process began with debates and question and answer sessions whereby the ECRs put the aspirants to task on how they would address issues within the dockets they were vying for.  The Aspirants read and shared their manifestos with the ECRs, a sign of commitment to their mandate should they win those positions.

The crowd cheered jubilantly as the Returning Officer Dr. Mary Onditi read out the new office bearers. Mr. Vincent Awiti was elected the new Chairman, SAJOOUST accompanied by his Deputy Ms. Anne Kerubo. Mr. Nyaende Bob Ondari was elected as the new Secretary General while Ms. Rehema  Banadeta, assumed the role of  Director Curricular and Mr. Donvin Oganga , the Director Co-Curricular. The Welfare docket and Treasurer docket will now be occupied by Ms. Saidi Mercy Mulekye, and Mr. David Muthama respectively.

With the enactment of the Universities Act 2016, the election of student leaders is done through electoral college as opposed to all students participating in the exercise. In the past the popular vote was how elections used to conducted, it was termed chaotic leading to the amended Act which requires student councils to be voted in not by all the students, but by electoral college representatives elected by the students commonly referred to as delegates.

The hugely contested elections was organized by the JOOUST Electoral Board and overseen by the Dean of Students Office headed by the Dean Prof. Christopher Obel Gor.

Screen Reader