Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology has conducted a successful and historic on- line Deans election. The on-line voting exercise which commenced at 8:00a.m and ended at 1:00 p.m witnessed a one hundred percent voter turnout.

This was the 3rd cycle of Deans elections. The elections, conducted electronically were for the School of Education, Humanities and Social Sciences and School of Biological, Physical, Mathematics and Actuarial Sciences that presented more than one candidate out of 8 Schools. Speaking while declaring the winners of the elections, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic Affairs, Prof. Joseph Bosire who was also the Returning Officer thanked the voters for turning up in large numbers to cast their votes. “On behalf of the Deans Electoral Board, I would like to thank the entire JOOUST fraternity for the spirit of partnership that was exhibited during this historic election.” Said Prof. Bosire.

The Returning Officer thanked the Electoral Board for the commitment, dedication, integrity and creativity that led to a successful election. Prof. Regina Nyunja and Dr. Jack Ajowi were among the dons who retained their Deanship in a very competitive election. The relay of elections through the e-voting system was witnessed by University Academic Staff Union, the candidates and voters.

The e-voting system is a cloud based platform offered by a UK based company. It is designed to provide an online voting platform for schools and universities. The platform provides an opportunity for voters to vote securely from anywhere, using any device.



Screen Reader