Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology has held its first ever virtual student elections for the University’s Student Association, SAJOOUST 2021/2022 Office.

“I am greatly humbled by the level of commitment and dedication you have exuded from the preparation stages to the successful culmination of the student elections today.” Said the Deputy Vice Chancellor Professor Joseph Bosire while addressing the SAJOOUST Electoral Board. He also noted that this being the first its kind, the Directorate of Information Communications Technology (ICT) did exemplary well to ensure the credibility of the virtual elections.

While making his remarks, the Dean of students Professor Christopher Obel Gor also thanked the University Management for supporting the student election process adding that the cordial relationship continues to strengthen the student governance and leadership skills.

The two- day process began with the election of the Electoral College Representatives (ECR) at School level, each nominating ECRs according to the departments in the schools. Thereafter, the ECRs convened a lively virtual debate in preparation for the Student Governing Council (SGC) elections. The five hour event kicked off at exactly six o’clock in the morning and ended in the early afternoon with a total of forty eight voter turn up, constituting the school champions.

The tightly contested Chairman position was clinched by Mr. Emmanuel Otieno Wende, Mr. Oduor Alfred Odhiambo is the newly Director Co-curricular, who ran unopposed, Ms. Nyabuto Kemunto Vane scooped the Director welfare position with Mr. Rikana F. Kioka securing the Treasurer position, Ms. Malwaki Evon won the Director Curricular affairs position, The Secreatary General position was clinched by Mr. Omoko Gilbert.

The congress representatives will be elected shortly after to culminate the process.

The University wishes to congratulate all the students who participated in the process and best wishes to the newly elected office bearers.